2022 Savage Squirrel Nikki O’Donnell holds the newly dedicated plaque.

For 16 years the DCWST has selected athletes to receive the Savage Squirrel Award. The award, our most prestigious, is given to one female and one male who most embody the DCWST ethos of sportsmanship, positive attitude, athletic achievement, and an overall love of the sport. The Savage Squirrel Awardees inscribe their name on the hallowed Savage Squirrel helmet. The current helmet, and its predecessor, are preserved by the team as icons that represent this tradition.

This year the team added a new icon – the Savage Squirrel Plaque.  It will be engraved with all past Savage Squirrel Award winners and displayed in the race shack.

Special thanks to Klaus Schmidt for his donation of the plaque and the hard work put in bringing this new form of recognition to the team. 

Savage Squirrel Awardees are listed below.

2021-2022: Bayden Copley and Nikki O’Donnell

2020-2021: Maraid Johnson and Walter Brands

2019-2020: Emma Lynch and Marcus Schmidt

2018-2019: Sydney Willig and Demetri Engel

2017-2018: Jaclyn Yoder and Casey Fuller

2016-2017: Jaclyn Jacobs and Jack Phelps

2015-2016: Gregory Morris and Lexi Orenstein

2014-2015: John Yoder and Lizzie Kinnard

2013-2014: Trey Rouse and Ashley Wilhelm

2012-2013: (not given)

2011-2012: Lauren Morris and John Wagner

2010-2011: Nicole Walch and Aryne Riley

2009-2010: Cara Stough and Colin Lynch

2008-2009: Jack Havens

2007-2008: Kyle Rouse and Danielle White

2006-2007: Tom Wallisch and Elizabeth Green